Solid Joys (Smartphone App)

Technology.  A wonderful resource when used properly – especially smartphones.  I use my smartphone for so much.  Just like anyone else with one –  I text, check email, update social media, play games, catch up on the news, etc.  However, I also use my phone in my devotional time via my bible reading application (You Version) and an application called Solid Joys.

soild joys

The Google Play store describes the Solid Joys app as “…a daily devotional app from the ministry of John Piper. These short but substantive readings aim to feed your joy in Jesus every day of the year.” The readings are taken from past sermons and/or books that Pastor Piper has preached and/or written over the many decades of his ministry. If you have an android-based smartphone and you enjoy good ministry resources, I highly suggest this app. It’s free, but even if it wasn’t – it is worth the download.

desiring god app

For those with iPhones, Pastor Piper has app for you as well: Desiring God App (iTunes). I’ma be honest here – I am a bit jealous. The iTunes app has a significant amount of more resources than the android app. 🙂 Its basically the Desiring God website that you carry with you on your smartphone.

For those who do not know of Pastor Piper, his ministry resources can be found at Desiring God Ministries. You can spend hours upon hours upon days at this website.  It is filled with wonderful resources, most of which are free. Please take a look when you have the time.

Grace and Peace,
John

Leave a Reply

