“The Gospel Project” on Android! YES!!!

logo-defaultIt seems as though everyone in the “reformed” camp are *Apple fans. Nowadays, it’s commonplace to see everyone from Pastors to rappers communicating on their iPhones and preaching or speaking from their iPads.

Most, if not all, of the apps developed by reformed ministries are released on iOS before any other platform – including Android. I have to admit, as an Android user, it is quite frustrating. I can’t tell you how many apps are currently on the iOS that I would love to see on the Android platform. Take a look through the comments section of the many of the articles that introduce a new app released on the iOS platform – Android users are screaming for some love!

Enter “The Gospel Project” finally released on Android. I first learned of this project from the The Gospel Coalition website. I am extremely excited about it and I am grateful to Lifeway Christian Resources for releasing it on another platform. Lifeway is a great organization. Their resources are always biblically-focused, Christ-centered, and grounded in the gospel! As the education arm of the Southern Baptist Convention, they are dedicated to providing first-rate material for evangelical Christians. I’m sure you’ve seen the Lifeway Christian Stores in your area.

For those unfamiliar with this initiative –

The Gospel Project is a Bible study resource that invites Adults, Students, and Kids of all ages to dive deeply into God’s story of redemption through Jesus Christ. In every lesson, participants are immersed in the gospel and learn how when the gospel works on them, they become a part of the story, too, the very hands and feet in God’s gospel project.

Led by General Editor Ed Stetzer and Managing Editor Trevin Wax, The Gospel Project is designed to unify an entire church under a single Christ-centered curriculum. Separate study plans for adults, students, and kids ensure the proper focus and depth for each age group.

– The Gospel Project Website

Again, I am extremely excited about this program finally making its way to the Android platform and I look forward to eventually incorporating it in my family’s devotional time, as well as my personal devotional time. When you get a chance, take a look at their site and see how this resource can fit into your devotional life and even the life of your church. Grace and peace to you.

In Christ,
John

*I love my brother and sister Apple users. Y’all are good people! 😉

24 Jan 14 – Update: On 21 Jan 14, I made a comment on the original blog post regarding getting an message in the Google Play store about the adult app not being compatible with my device. (I am running a Galaxy Note 8.0 w/ Jelly Bean 4.2.2 – the app requires 4.0 and above.) My post was answered the same day and I was informed that someone was looking into the problem. Today, a Gospel Project (GP) representative (Erica) responded saying that the adult app should be fixed. It was! Thanks to the GP Team for such a prompt response and appropriate fix to the issue. Just another reason to pick up this app – the response time from the GP Team is remarkable!

5 thoughts on ““The Gospel Project” on Android! YES!!!”

  1. Hi John,

    Thank you so much for recommending the Gospel Project app for the Android platform. We are very excited about this development.

    One correction: neither The Gospel Project nor this app were developed or are in any way related to The Gospel Coalition. Both are ministry tools developed by LifeWay Christian Resources in Nashville. You’ll see this on the bottom left corner of gospelproject.com and on all materials.

    Thanks again for making note of this and we are thrilled to share in your passion for our Christ-centered Bible study material.

    1. Thanks, Matt. It’s my pleasure to recommend this app on the new platform. I’ve heard great things about it and now I can finally see it for myself! My apologies on the incorrect information. I have corrected the article appropriately. Thanks for taking the time to read the article! I appreciate it. Grace and peace to you.

  2. Unfortunately, either Lifeway made an error in their technical requirements for the “Adult” version of the app (listed as for 7-10 inch tablets only), or Google Play has made an error.

    I have an ASUS MeMO Pad HD7, running Android 4.2.2, that meets (exceeds) every technical spec I can find for this app.

    Google Play WILL let me install the other two version of the app (which indicate they are made for phones). But the Gospel Project (black label) Adult app page says that my device is not compatible/eligible, and I have been unsuccessful finding any answers as to “why”.

    1. Michael,

      Thanks for the comment!

      The “7-10” is referring to the volumes being offered for the android tablet, not the tablet sizes. I was previously under the same impression.

      I am having the same issue, brother. I am running a Galaxy Note 8.0 with 4.2.2. I have also installed the Student and Kids app, but not the Adult app. I responded on the original blog post that announded the app and Matt Capp (the person who runs the Gospel Project blog) and he is checking on it. Once I find out something, I will reply here for you (and others) to be aware. Check back with me later.

      Thanks for the response and interest in this post. Blessing to you, bro!

      Grace and Peace,
      John

Leave a Reply

